Wastewater Treatment

Project Updates

There is 6ha in rural Martinborough that on...

The following has been achieved at the...

Wastewater from Featherston, Martinborough and...

To collect, treat and discharge wastewater from the urban areas of Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough and the coastal settlement of Lake Ferry so as to provide public heath protection with minimal effects on the environment

Council’s previous wastewater consents expired between 2008-2012.  As part of the forward planning process, Council consulted about future wastewater management with iwi, Wairarapa Public Health, Department of Conservation, Fish and Game, Greater Wellington Regional Council, community boards and the community.  Better environmental decisions are expected by the public today than they were in the early 2000s when the original resource consents were granted; it is no longer acceptable to discharge to waterways. There is however a fine line between finding the best environmental solution and what is affordable to ratepayers. 

To achieve our goal Council will be progressively reducing discharge into waterways by introducing irrigation systems to discharge treated effluent onto land.  The wastewater upgrade has been split into three sub-projects (Martinborough, Greytown and Featherston) and is planned to take more than 35 years to complete.  From the time Greater Wellington Regional Council (GWRC) resource consents are granted for each of the town’s wastewater project, it will take approximately 20-30 years to complete each individual project.

Community Liaison Group
As part of the resource consent conditions a community liaison group was setup to provide a forum for discussion, exchange of information and to create and maintain channels of communication between the community, Council and GWRC on any issues or developments arising from the operation of the wastewater treatment plants in the district.  Minutes of these meetings which includes details of what has been achieved during interim milestone periods can be found here.

South Wairarapa District Council