Representation arrangements

South Wairarapa District Council consists of a mayor, who is chairperson of the Council and nine councillors elected via a constituency system. The three constituencies represented by councillors are mapped below, the mayor is elected at large:

Image of SWDC Ward Boundaries

Community Boards

The South Wairarapa district has three community boards.  The composition of each is as follows:

  • Featherston Community Board – four members elected by the community plus two ward councillors appointed by Council;
  • Greytown Community Board – four members elected by the community plus two ward councillors appointed by Council;
  • Martinborough Community Board – four members elected by the community plus two ward councillors appointed by Council.

Representation Review

Councils are required to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years. This review must consider:

  • the number of elected members (within the legal requirement to have a minimum of  six and a maximum of 14 members);
  • the boundaries and names of each constituency;
  • the number of members that will represent each constituency.

Councils must follow the procedures set out in the Local Electoral Act 2001 when conducting their representation review. They should also follow the guidelines published by the Local Government Commission

The Local Electoral Act 2001 gives you the right to make a written submission to the Council on its proposed representation arrangements, as well as the right to be heard if you wish. You also have the right to appeal or object to any decisions on our representation arrangements. The Local Government Commission will then make a binding decision on the appeal. 

Further details on the matters that councils must consider in reviewing their membership and basis of election can be found in the Local Electoral Act 2001. The Council last conducted a review in 2018 for the 2019 local elections. Click here for more information on Council's last review.

The Council will undertake its next review by 2024, for the 2025 elections.


Māori constituencies

The Local Electoral Act 2001 gives councils the ability to establish separate Māori constituencies for Māori electors. Councils may pass a resolution on the matter or resolve to conduct a poll on the matter. 

Alternatively, the community may demand a poll.  The demand for a poll can be initiated by five per cent of electors within the region.  The result of such a poll is binding.  Click here for more information on initiating a poll.

South Wairarapa District Council does not currently have a separate Māori constituency, but will be considering representation in the 2020/21 financial year.

Council administers a Māori Standing Committee with representatives from Papawai Marae, Kohunui Marae and Hau Ariki Marae, Pae tu Mokai o Tauira (a Featherston incorporated society representing local Māori interests in the district) as well as members from iwi Rangitāne o Wairarapa and Kahungunu ki Wairarapa.  The committee was established in accordance with Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

South Wairarapa District Council