South Wairarapa District Council operates the following funding schemes:


Creative Communities Scheme

Creative Communities LogoThe Creative Communities Scheme supports and encourages local communities to create and present diverse opportunities for accessing and participating in arts activities within the South Wairarapa.  The scheme is a partnership between Creative NZ and the Council who administer the scheme.  To be successful applications must show that the proposed project meets one or more of the funding criteria:  Access and participation, diversity and/or young people.  Applicants should carefully read the criteria as set out in the Creative Communities Scheme brochure.  This brochure tells you if your project is able to be funded through the CCS and how to make an application.  The application guide shows you how to submit a great application for your project.

Current Funding Round

The Assessment Group must hold 2-4 funding rounds per financial year. The annual allocation for 2020/21 is $21,345, plus carried over funds of approximately $9,000.

We are currently inviting applications for our second funding round of 2020/21. Applications close Friday 26 February 2021 for projects taking place within 12 months of 19 March 2021. The application form and guide are available above.

A third round may be held in May 2021 if there are still funds available.

Payment of Grant
Applicants who are not GST registered and have supplied their bank account details with their application can expect to have the grant amount direct credited to your bank account on the next payable accounts run.  If you are GST registered we can not pay your grant until we have received an invoice from you.  Council accounts payable policy is for accounts to be paid on the 20th of the month following.

We're looking for people to join the Assessment Group. Assessors help assess applications and attend assessment meetings 2 - 4 times a year.

Funding Allocation

The first round for 2020/21 was held in August 2020. A list of grants allocated is available here.

A list of the grants allocated in 2019/20 is available here.

Please contact the Scheme Administrator ( or 06 306 9611 ext.885) if you have any queries.


Sport New Zealand Rural Travel Fund

Sport New Zealand LogoThe Sport NZ Rural Travel Fund is open to South Wairarapa sports clubs and school teams with young people aged between 5 and 19 years who require subsidies to assist with transport expenses to local sporting competitions.  The scheme is a partnership between Council and Sport NZ and was developed in response to concerns about the lack of participation in sport by young people living in rural communities. 

Grant allocations for the 2020/2021 year have been made.  Subject to funding confirmation from Sport NZ, we are expecting the fund to open again in July 2021.

For more information about this grant please contact Suzanne Clark ( or 06 306 9611 ext. 826)


Community Board Grants

Community Boards and the Māori Standing Committee consider grant applications at their 6-weekly meetings. Applications are due not less than 10 working days before the Board/Committee is due to meet.

Martinborough Community Board
Criteria for community grants are on the application form [PDF] [MS Word] with priority funding areas as identified in the Martinborough Community Board 3-year strategic plan. An accountability form [PDF] [MS Word] must be completed within 3 months of project completion.

Next date grants will be considered: 25 February 2021
Application due: 11 February 2021

Featherston Community Board
Featherston Community Board considers grant applications at their 8-weekly meetings. The maximum grant that can be applied for is $500 per application.  The criteria are outlined on the application form [PDF] [MS Word].  An accountability form [PDF] [MS Word] must be completed within 3 months of project completion.

Next date grants will be considered: 23 February 2021
Application due: 9 February 2021

Greytown Community Board
Greytown Community Board has recently revised their critiera and now considers grant applications quarterly at every second of their meetings. The maximum grant that can be applied for is $1,000 per application.  The criteria are outlined on the application form [PDF] [MS Word].  The Greytown Community Board require a project accountability form [PDF] [MS Word] to be completed within 3 months of grant expenditure.

Next date grants will be considered: 17 February 2021
Application due: 3 February 2021

Māori Standing Committee
The Māori Standing Committee considers grant applications at their 8-weekly meetings.

The Māori Standing Committee has separate application forms for individuals, non- profit organisations and marae. The maximum grant that can be applied is $500 for indiviudals and $1,000 for non-profit organisations. The criteria are outlined on the application forms: Indiviudals [PDF] [MS Word]; Non-profit Organisations [PDF] [MS Word]; Marae [PDF] [MS Word].

The Committee require a project accountability form [PDF] [MS Word] to be completed within 3 months of grant expenditure.

Next date grants will be considered: 16 February 2021
Application due: 2 February 2021

If you have any queries about Community Board grants please contact Steph Dorne ( or 06 306 9611 xtn 885)


Council Community and Youth Grants

Grants are awarded to community organisations which contribute to the community.  This year there is $157,000 available for distribution for community grants and $75,000 available for distribution for youth grants.

Our primary funding round has been completed and we have awarded grants as follows:

As there are funds remaining (Community approx. $22,000, Youth approx. $7,000), we will be holding a further funding round for the 2020/2021 year with provision available to receive urgent applications in the interim.  Please review our Grants Policy before making an urgent application.

Next Funding Round
Applications open:  1 February 2021
Applications close:  15 March 2021

If you have any questions please contact Katrina Neems ( or 06 306 9611 xtn 851)


South Wairarapa District Council