Maori Standing Committee

The Māori Standing Committee:

  • Advise on tangata whenua and Maori interests in the Council’s major areas of activity
  • Establish a method of consultation, which involves tangata whenua and iwi, on all matters relating to the district’s resources, and involving the district’s planning processes
  • Advise on consultation processes with Maori in the district and assist in the development of consultation networks throughout the District
  • Promote the development of processes within Council, which develop policy, processes and guidelines, based on the Treaty of Waitangi principles of participation, partnership and active.

The Māori Standing Committee is comprised of three councillors appointed by the Mayor, two representatives from each of the South Wairarapa Marae and Pae tū Mokai o Tauira, and one representative from each of the two Wairarapa Iwi. 

Māori Standing Committee membership

Māori Standing Committee members

Terms of Reference

Interim Terms of Reference for the Māori Standing Committee (under review)

South Wairarapa District Council