Greytown Community Board

Welcome to the Greytown Community Board page

Greytown Wins NZ's Most Beautiful Small Town Award

Greytown won Most Beautiful Small Town (pop less than 5000) and was picked ahead of Raglan and Whirinaki. The judges said “This small town is definitely a gem of the Wairarapa.” read more

We are working hard to be a proactive Community Board that makes a real difference to the Greytown Ward Community.

Current members of the Board are:
Ann Rainford (Chair)
Shelley Symes (Deputy Chair)
Simone Baker
Graeme Gray
Councillor Rebecca Fox
Councillor Alistair Plimmer

Contact a Community Board Member

Greytown Community Board Three Year Plan
We have prepared a Three Year Plan which was adopted in December 2020. It sets out our vision and priorities for the Greytown Ward community for the 2019 to 2022 triennium.

Greytown Community Board's Annual Plan 19/20 Submission

The Local Governament Act 20002 specifically tasks community boards with 'preparing an annual submission to the territorial authority for expenditure within the community'.  Greytown Community Board have held two public meetings and a number of clinics over the past year and have made the following submission on Council's 19/20 Consultation Document.  Read here.


Community Board Grants
Our criteria for grants are:  To be eligible, applications must be from non-profit organisations for an essential social service or a recreational, cultural, educational or sporting purpose located or operating in the Greytown Ward of the South Wairarapa District. Grants are considered throughout the year.

Greytown Community Board considers grant applications quarterly throughout the year, at every second meeting. Refer to our meetings calendar for the meetings schedule.  The maximum grant that can be applied for is $1,000 per application.  The criteria are outlined on the application form (on our grants page).  The Greytown Community Board requires a project accountability form (on our grants page), to be completed within 3 months of grant expenditure.

Grants will not be considered unless the correct application form is filled in. Any group who have received funds in the past and have not filled in the accountability form will not be considered for any further grants until this has been done.

An accountability form must be completed within 3 months of project completion.

Civil Defence

The Greytown Community Board  began meetings with WREMO in March followed by public consultation with key stakeholders in Greytown to finalise our Civil Defence Plan. The plan is now final and can be viewed at Get Prepared

There will be an activation meeting later in the year and the plan will be reviewed every 18 months.

Shelley Symes is our lead community board liaison and Councillor Fox is our supporting liaison for WREMO and civil defence management.

Greytown Community Board Facebook Page
The Greytown Community Board Facebook page acts as a forum for Greytown issues, news from SWDC, news from Greytown Community Board, fundraisers and local events. It also acts to support local businesses and Tourism operators. It seeks to reach citizens in the Greytown ward who find this a more useful medium for news.

Messages and images posted on this page will be moderated - they must always be polite, appropriate and relevant. We support free speech and community engagement however we will remove anything that breaks Facebook standards and our rules. Please see our Facebook page for more details.

Greytown Tree Advisory Group
The Greytown Tree Advisory Group is an independent tree advocacy group which works with the Greytown Community Board to promote the protection and beneficial management of trees in and around Greytown. It aims to increase public awareness about the important contribution of trees to Greytown's landscape, history and heritage.

We have entered into a Memordanum of Understanding with the Greytown Tree Advisory Group for the 2019-2022 triennium which can be viewed here.

If you wish to become involved please contact Katie Abbott  or Jez Partridge  (Co-Chairs Greytown Tree Advisory Group).

South Wairarapa District Council