Your Council

Mayor and Councillors
Welcome to the South Wairarapa District

Here at Council we are proud to serve and support this fabulous part of New Zealand with its true ‘mountains to the sea’ experience.  South Wairarapa encompasses the three rural towns of Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough, each with their own charm and attributes.  We have a vast area of rural hinterland home to many more small communities, edged by the Rimutaka/Tararua Ranges and cradled by kilometres of rugged coastline.  Our vision is to be ‘the best little Council in New Zealand’ and we are working hard to achieve this.  We believe that a Council should be part of the community it serves and therefore welcome feedback from residents and visitors alike regarding our district and Council services.    

Local Governance Statement   

This Local Governance Statement outlines South Wairarapa District Council’s functions, governance structures and key policies and processes, in accordance with Local Government Act 2002 (s.40).

The purpose of this document is to support local democracy by informing the community of the ways they can engage with Council and influence decision making.

The Local Governance Statement [PDF] will be updated and made publicly available within six months of the local government triennial election and at other times as Council considers appropriate.


Council Standing Orders

Standing Orders [PDF] are a set of rules that provide a formal framework for the conduct of local authority meetings.  They also outline the Council's agreed principles of behaivour within meetings.

All councils are required by the Local Government Act 2002 to adopt a set of standing orders that control the way the council's meetings are conducted.  Elected members must abide by the Standing Orders adopted by the Council.


South Wairarapa District Council