Refuse collections, disposal and recycling services

Recycling/Refuse residential kerbside collection

This kerbside service is for Ratepayers (mainly urban) who pay a refuse collection charge in their Rates.  Rural Ratepayers not paying a collection charge in their Rates are not entitled to use the kerbside service.

Official Council collection rubbish bags can be purchased from the Council Office in Martinborough, our Service Centres at the Featherston and Greytown Libraries, or local supermarkets.

Domestic Recycling Brochure

Commercial Recycling Brochure

Love Food Hate Waste - Tips and Tricks for Reducing Food Waste

Please be sure your refuse is in Council rubbish bags and on the kerb along with your recycling bins by 7.30am on your collection day:

Monday Pirinoa
Monday Te Awaiti/Tora/White Rock
(*conditions apply)
Tuesday Greytown
Wednesday Martinborough
Thursday Featherston
*Te Awaiti/Tora/White Rock collection is available only for those residents who pay for the service on their rates.  The service operates weekly from September to May and fortnightly from May to September.

Transfer Stations
Council has four transfer stations to help you recycle unwanted materials.  Only Martinborough station will accept recycling, green waste AND general refuse. Dropping off general recycling is free, but there are charges to process green waste and refuse. 

Please note: Green waste does not include: flax, bamboo, cabbage tree leaves and ginger root which are not compostable as due to their fibrous and waxy nature they can’t be chopped up in machines and processed. These can only be disposed of as general refuse.

Martinborough Transfer Station

Lake Ferry Road, Martinborough

(1.8 km southwest of Martinborough)

Hours:    Wednesday 1.00pm – 3.00pm

              Saturday 10.00am – 4.00pm

              Sunday 10.00am – 1.00pm

Accepts: Refuse, recycling, green waste.

Agricultural recycling only from 10am – 2pm on the 3rd Wednesday of each month.  Any items for the transfer station refer to opening times above.

Greytown Recycling Station

32 Cotter Street, Greytown

Hours:    Tuesday 1.00pm – 3.30pm

               Saturday 10.00am – 12.00pm

               Sunday 10.00am – 1.00pm

Accepts: Recycling and green waste.

Featherston Recycling Station

60 Johnston Street, Featherston

Hours:    Thursday 11.00am – 3.00pm

              Saturday 11.00am – 3.00pm

              Sunday 11.00am – 3.00pm

Accepts: Recycling and green waste.

Pirinoa Recycling Station

3031 Lake Ferry Road, Featherston

(Opposite Warren’s Road)

Hours:   Wednesday 1.00pm – 3.00pm

              Saturday 10.00am – 12.00pm

              Sunday 4.00pm – 6.00pm

Accepts: Recycling and green waste.

Schedule of fees and charges

Waste Minimisation Education Strategy

Inorganic Collections