17 January 2017 - Prohibited fire season for urban centres

Effective from Wednesday 18 January 2017

PROHIBITED FIRE SEASON  for the urban centres in South Wairarapa district: Featherston, Greytown and Martinborough

This means you are not allowed to light any fire within the urban areas.  This includes, but is not limited to: all braziers, campfires, bonfires, wood fired barbeques, pizza ovens, incinerators and fireworks.  The use of gas barbeques is exempt from the Prohibited Fire Season and may be used with caution.

If you light a fire, you are responsible for all costs to put that fire out and for any damage caused by that fire.

"Total Fire Ban" signs will be erected at the entrance/exit of each town by the Council Fire Officer.